2019 Faculty Convocation Awards Ceremony

Each year, the Office of the Provost recognizes individuals with significant achievements in their scholarly pursuits during the annual Faculty Convocation and Awards Ceremony.

The award categories include teaching, gateway teaching, research & creative activities, engagement, service, advising & mentorship and librarianship.

There is also a President’s Council Worlds Ahead Faculty award that recognizes a faculty member who engages in significant research, makes an impact in their field, promotes collaboration, mentorship and advising; and demonstrates distinguished leadership.

Selected by the Faculty Senate Awards and Honorary Degree Committee, the following individuals within the College of Arts, Sciences & Education were honored:

President’s Council World’s Ahead Faculty Award
William E. Pelham Jr., Psychology

Faculty Award for Teaching
Patricia Barbetta, Teaching and Learning
Vicki L. Burns, Center for Women and Gender Studies
Prem Chapagain, Physics
Lisa Brinn, Biology
Flavia E. Iuspa, Teaching and Learning

Faculty Award for Gateway Teaching
Uma Swamy, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Faculty Award For Service
Alok Deoraj, Environmental Health Services and Biomolecular Sciences Institute

Faculty Award for Research & Creative Activities
Krishnaswamy Jayachandran, Earth and Environment
Julie Marie Wade, English
David Kadko, Applied Research Center and Institute of Environment
Alexander Mebel, Chemistry

Faculty Award for Advising and Mentorship
Stacy Frazier, Psychology
Melanie Morales, Teaching and Learning

Faculty Award for Adjunct Teaching
Nelson De La Rosa, Mathematics and Statistics

Distinguished University Professor
Lorraine E. Bahrick, Psychology
Les Standiford, English

See the complete list of 2019 convocation awardees here.